top of page

Being lucky to have a mentor

Καλημερα,

For making an introduction to my today's article I am going to dig a bit in the Greek mythology and history.

Have anyone of you ever asked yourself what the word mentor means?

In the Odyssey, Mentor [Greek: Μέντωρ] was the son of Alcimus. In his old age Mentor was a friend of Odysseus who placed Mentor and Odysseus' foster-brother Eumaeus in charge of his son Telemachus, and of Odysseus' palace, when Odysseus left for the Trojan War.

When Athena visited Telemachus she took the disguise of Mentor to hide herself from the suitors of Telemachus's mother Penelope. As Mentor, the goddess encouraged Telemachus to stand up against the suitors and go abroad to find out what happened to his father. When Odysseus returned to Ithaca, Athena appeared briefly in the form of Mentor again at Odysseus' palace. Because of Mentor's relationship with Telemachus, and the disguised Athena's encouragement and practical plans for dealing with personal dilemmas, the personal name Mentor has been adopted in English as a term meaning someone who imparts wisdom to and shares knowledge with a less experienced colleague.The first recorded modern usage of the term can be traced to a 1699 book entitled Les Aventures de Télémaque, by François Fénelon, in the book the lead character is that of Mentor. This book was very popular during the 18th century and the modern application of the term can be traced to this publication.

Maybe, I found myself very lucky if we take in consideration, the origin of this term and the fact that I am doing currently my EVS here in Greece, and that I am Having a greek mentor.

When I arrived first time to Komotini for starting my EVS, at the bus station "KTEL" late in the night I was met by my mentor - Ivi Papadopoulou, Who took me and my friend to our new house with her personal car. And not only! After realizing that we don't have blankets, Ivi went back Home, and she brought to us some of her blankets in the same night.

About my mentor, I can say only good words. In the second night she invited us to go out showing us some famous places for young people that Komotini has. We went first to Biciletta art bar for youngsters, and after Ivi took us to another place called Hydromio, a place with greek traditional live music. I can say that even from the first day Ivi as my mentor spent a lot of time with me tring to show me as many as possible places that are unique and special that somehow represents the greek life style.

Apart from the entertainment part I could always relay on my mentor. Any time when there was a problem in our volunteer's house. Ivi was the first one who was coming to help us, to solve the problem.

I can say that I am happy that some activities that I will have during my EVS will be made together with Ivi, in the school where she is teaching. Which I will write soon about.

I know that there is many things to come, but until know I feel lucky. And, If I ever imagined myself as a mentee, my relationship with my mentor would be exactly like that. I know about All this because I also used to be a mentor for EVS volunteers. And it's important when your mentor is offering to you all the support that you need at the begining.

A mentor has to be not only your supervisor or tutor, but also your firend.


bottom of page